Scotland’s Finest Woodlands Announced

by | Jun 24, 2014 | Featured Slider, Latest, News

The Royal Highland Show set the scene for the Scottish Finest Woodlands Awards prize-giving last friday (20 June). Over £6,500 in prize money was distributed to the winning projects, which were awarded in three categories: Community Woodland, New Native Woods, Quality Timber, and Schools.

Environment and Climate Change Minister Paul Woodhouse presented the awards, praising the enthusiasm and innovation of this year’s winners. The Minister said: “These awards celebrate the contribution that woodlands can make to the people, environment and economic prosperity of Scotland.

“And it is an auspicious year for the awards. Not only do we have the 50th anniversary of the Hunter Blair trophy for silvicultural excellence, but there is also a new Crown Estate Schools Trophy to help encourage young people’s interest in woodland projects.

“I was also particularly interested to hear that the site which won the James Jones Trophy for new commercial woodland – which is managed by Forestry Commission Scotland and UPM Tilhill – was also a highly commended entry in the New Native Woods category, which reflects the increasing acceptance of multi-purpose forestry as the norm.”

Prize Winners

Please see below a full list of the award winners:

Community Woodlands category

Winner of Healthy Lifestyles competition and overall winner of category and Tim Stead Trophy: Abriachan Forest Trust for Abriachan Forest, Inverness-shire
Winner of Viable Livelihoods competition: Kilfinan Community Forest, Tighnabruaich, Argyll
Highly Commended: The Life Science Trust for Pishwanton Community Wood near Gifford, East Lothian
Commended: Fife Coast and Countryside Trust for School Wood, Dunfermline, Fife and Sleat Community Trust for Tormore Community Forest, Sleat, Isle of Skye

New Native Woods category

Winner of Woodland Trust Scotland Trophy for New Native Woods: Mark Gibson for Craigengillan Estate, Dalmellington, Ayrshire
Highly Commended: Cawdor Estate for Auchtertipper near Carrbridge, Inverness-shire and Forestry Commission Scotland & UPM Tilhill for Glen Orchy Native Woodland, Argyll
Commended: Roag Common Grazing crofting tenants for Coille Cnoc na h-Airigh (Wood of the Hill of the Shielings), Dunvegan, Isle of Skye and RSPB Scotland for Wood of Cree (Barclye) near Newton Stewart, Wigtownshire

Quality Timber category

Winner of Hunter Blair Trophy for Silvicultural Excellence: Virginia Fraser for Fanellan and Ruttle, Beauly, Inverness-shire
Winner of James Jones Trophy for New Commercial Woods: Forestry Commission Scotland & UPM Tilhill for Glen Orchy Native Woodland, Argyll
Winner of John Kennedy trophy for Multi-purpose Woodlands: The Church Commissioners for England for West Buccleuch near Hawick, Roxburghshire

Schools category

Winner of the The Crown Estate Schools Trophy: Dreghorn Primary School, Irvine, North Ayrshire
Runner up: Lochdonhead Primary School, Isle of Mull

The Scottish Finest Woods Awards is supported by the Institute of Chartered Foresters. The full list of winners can be downloaded here.