Looking for the best in forestry, woodlands and woodland learning

by | Dec 20, 2022 | Featured Slider, Latest, News

Calling all those involved in forestry, woodland management, education and training – the Royal Forestry Society Excellence in Forestry Awards are back in the North of England.

From the Scottish borders to Liverpool and Hull, the Royal Forestry Society (RFS) is seeking entries from woodlands large or small. They want to shine a light on those doing great things for local communities or producing quality home grown timber. Also in the spotlight are woods that boost farm diversity and those where managers and owners are adapting the woodland to survive whatever challenges climate change may bring.

For learning providers and organisations helping to interest children or adults in how to manage woodlands and to consider forestry as a career, the Awards are an opportunity to shout about great work.

Applications are open for five key awards

  • The Duke of Cornwall Award for Multipurpose Resilient woodland;
  • Bede Howell Award for Excellence in Silviculture;
  • Community Woodland of the Year;
  • The Small and Farm Woodland of the Year; and  
  • The Education and Learning Award

Details are on the Royal Forestry Society website at rfs.org.uk. The deadline for entries is March 31.

RFS Chief Executive Christopher Williams said: “The world’s focus is on what trees, woodlands and forestry can do not just for the environment but for our health and wellbeing. We know the North of England is home to woodlands and education providers who inspire locally and whose work could inspire those further afield.

“These awards show just what is being achieved in large and small woodlands, and in those that have been established for centuries as well as those which are just starting out.

“It is an opportunity to showcase organisations teaching the skills that those working in woodlands today and tomorrow will need and those encouraging children and youngsters to care for our woodlands.

The awards are the premier forestry awards for England, Wales and Northern Ireland. They were last held in the North of England in 2016.

Thanks to sponsors: Forestry Journal, FSC,  PEFC, Savills,  Tilhill, TreesPlease, Woodland Trust