Five shortlisted for England’s Woodlands for Climate Change Award

by | May 1, 2014 | Featured Slider, Latest, News

Five outstanding areas of woodlands have been shortlisted for the RFS Woodlands for Climate Change Award. The woodlands have been planted in England in the last five years and must be able to demonstrate that they are resilient to the predicted challenges of climate change and pests and diseases. The award is sponsored by Forestry Commission England in partnership with the Environment Agency Climate Ready project.

Judging has already begun. Those shortlisted are:

  • Combe Sydenham Country Park, Taunton, Somerset
  • Norbury Park, Norbury, Stafford
  • Santon Downham, Thetford Forest, Norfolk
  • The Mersey Forest, Sefton Coast Woodlands
  • Treworder Barton, Wadebridge, Cornwall

RFS Excellence in Forestry Awards Co-ordinator Trefor Thomson said: “The standard of entry to this new award was extremely high, and shortlisting was a real challenge. We look forward to learning more about the winning sites to provide practical examples to help other woodland owners tackle the issues of resilience.”

Judging has also begun for the RFS Excellence in Forestry Best of England Awards. Twenty award-winning woodlands and six schools accepted an invitation to take part. They are:

  • Duke of Cornwall Multipurpose Woodlands Award: Hovingham Estate, York, Yorkshire; Stansted Park Foundation, Hampshire and Hampton Estate, Surrey (joint winners 2010); Milden Hall, Thetford Forest, Suffolk; Lowther Estate/Center Parcs, Cumbria; Combe Sydenham Estate, Somerset.
  • RFS Silviculture Award: Hovingham Estate, Yorkshire; Wilderness Wood, Sussex; Sotterley Estate, Suffolk; Wilderness Wood East Sussex; Whitbourne Estate, Worcestershire; Manor of Restormel Woodlands, Cornwall.
  • Small Woodlands Award; Coombeshead Farm, Cornwall; Alvecote Wood, Staffordshire; Rawhaw Wood, Northamptonshire; Upton Park Farms, Hampshire; Braemar Farm, Hornsea, Yorkshire.
  • Community Woodlands Awards: Oakfrith Wood, Wiltshire; The Woodlands, Clayton le Moors, Lancashire; Hill Holt Wood, Lincolnshire; Hailey Community Woodland, Oxfordshire; Heaton Woods Trust, Bradford, Yorkshire.
  • Schools Award: Millbrook Primary, Cheshire; Welton Free Rangers Forest School Nursery, Somerset; Pinewood School, Hertfordshire; Moulsecoomb Primary, Sussex and Ifield School Kent (joint 2010); and Heaton Primary and Forest School Schools Award, Yorkshire.

All prizes will be awarded at an event at the RFS headquarters at The Hay Barns, Upton Estate on 9 July 2014.